Upgrading from a Previous Version

When you upgrade your Open Manage Network Manager installation from a previous version, keep the following in mind:

Operating System Upgrade

If your operating system is not supported in the upgrade version, upgrade to a supported operating system before upgrading Open Manage Network Manager. The way to do this is to do the following:

• Back up the database.

• Upgrade the operating system.

• Install the original Open Manage Network Manager on the new operating system.

• Restore the database.

• Proceed with the installation / upgrade of Open Manage Network Manager.

See Database Backup and Restoring Databases for details.

General Advice

• Make sure you log out of the operating system between installations.

• Upgrading requires a new license to activate new features.

• Close any open browsers when upgrading.

• The following require manual migration (export, then import) from previous versions: SMTP settings, some scheduled items. Some schedules may require deletion / re-making. If you open them and they are blank, use this method.

• You must re-create topologies as Visualizations. (suggestion: take a screenshot)

• Group Operations have been deprecated, replaced by Adaptive CLI.

• The default password policy puts no restrictions on password length.

• Adaptive CLI with Perl scripts must contain valid Perl under the “strict” pragma (use strict;). If you import or migrate from a previous version a Perl script that does not pass this “strict” criterion, you must rewrite it for “strict” compliance before it can be successfully edited or copied.

• Any configured color changes to the portal may not persist and must be re-made manually. Similarly, customized page layouts or page order may not persist and you must typically re-arrange them manually.

Handling Missing Users

If you have upgraded your Open Manage Network Manager installation, users and/or their role associations may not appear. You can fix this by going to one of the following screens:

Roles > Administrator > Actions > Assign members.

Roles > Power users > Actions > Assign members.

Roles > [ROLENAME] > Actions > Assign members.

Then click Update associations.