Portal > Users and Organizations

Create Users you later assign to roles and locations with the appropriate permissions (roles for operators, administrators, and so on) in these screens. User Names are limited to 70 characters. Define the default password policy in the Control Panel under Portal > Password Policies.

Users perform tasks using the portal. Administrators can create new users or deactivate existing users. You can organize users in a hierarchy of organizations and delegate administrative rights.

After creating them, add Users to roles which configure their permissions for access and action with the Actions menu to the right of a listed user, or during user creation.

Best practice is to spend some time designing your system’s security before creating users, organizations and roles. Note also that By default, Open Manage Network Manager makes every new user have the roles Power User and User. To assign a new user to specific permissions only, remove all rights on these roles, or confine their permissions to those that are universal first. You can remove users from Power User, but not from User.

When you are signed in, you can edit your user information by clicking the link with your username in the top right corner of the screen.

After upgrading from a previous versions, Users may not initially appear associated to their roles, but you can work around this apparent failure by clicking Update Associations. This is in the Roles portion of the Control Panel. Click Actions > Assign Members, then click the Update Associations button on the following screen. Alternatively, you can go to the Server Administration portion of the Control Panel and click Execute to Reindex all search indexes.

User Role

This role’s description is Portal Role: Portal users with view access. To turn off most permissions from the User Role, go to Redcell > Permission manager and edit the User role. The Advanced button opens a screen where you can select / de-select permissions in larger groups. Power User is Portal users with extended privileges, and Administrator is Portal users with system privileges.

Default User Roles

To make new users not assigned as Power Users by default, go to the Portal > Portal Settings > Users > Default Associations Tab and remove the roles you do not want assigned by default. Notice that you can assign / unassign to existing users in this tab too. The role User appears in this default list, but removal does not have an impact. Open Manage Network Manager automatically assigns all users to the User role.

Enabling Terms of Use

To Enable a “Terms of Use” statement required of each user use the following steps:

1. Login as Admin

2. Go to Control Panel

3. Click on Portal Settings and then the Users link on the right, and look in the Fields tab.

4. Check Terms of Use Required and save. You must then click I Agree to the Terms of Use document that appears.

5. Logout and attempt to login as another user to validate the Terms of Use appear.

To change the Terms of Use wording:

1. Login as Admin

2. Go to the Synergy Control Panel

3. Click on Web Content

4. Click on the TERMS-OF-USE article link which will take you to the editor where you can alter and save it.

Nothing prevents a user from deleting the Terms of Use article. If the Terms of Use seeded article is removed then the static Liferay Terms of Use appears until next Open Manage Network Manager restart. The editable / delete-able article is a copy of the compiled static version but exposed as an article to make editing easier. The next time Open Manage Network Manager restarts, if the TERMS-OF-USE article does not exist, it imports a new one.

Add Users and connect them to Roles

Add Users with the following steps:

1. Click Go to > Control Panel and navigate to Portal > Users and Organizations.

2. Click the Add > User menu item at the top of the Users screen.

3. Enter the details of the new user. If you are editing an existing user, more fields appear. Screen Name, and Email Address are required. Optionally, you can enter Name, Job Title, and so on.

4. After you click Save notice that the right panel expands to include additional information.

Make sure you specify a Password when you add a user. This is not optional.

The first time users log in, the application prompts them for a security question. E-mail for password reminders / resets requires setting up the fields in Control Panel > Server Administration > Mail, not the SMTP Configuration which is for Open Manage Network Manager-originated e-mails. See Password Reset

5. Notice that if you are editing an existing user, or creating a new one, you can use the links on the right to configure connections with Roles. Roles, in particular, configure the Open Manage Network Manager functional permissions for that user. For example the Operators role’s capabilities are typically more limited than Administrators. See How to: Add and Configure User Roles / Permissions.

6. Click Save again, and the user you just configured should appear listed in the Users screen when you select View > All Users.

7. After you have configured roles as described in Add and Configure User Roles / Permissions, return to the Users and Organizations screen, edit the User, and click the Roles link to associate the User with the Role(s) you have configured.

The most dramatic evidence of permission changes appears when you first remove Default User Roles from your system in Portal > Portal Settings > Users > Default User Associations (check Apply to Existing Users if you have already configured your user). If you impersonate your user, and Go To > Control Panel, without User and Power User roles assigned, the impersonated user can only see My Account and Sites.

You can Export Users to a comma-separated value (CSV) file.

Once you have configured a user, you can click Action and to do the following:

Edit -- Re-configure the selected user. Select the user’s Role in the editor, too. Roles configure access and action permissions.

Permissions -- Manage the user’s access to and control over various parts of the portal.

Impersonate User (Opens New Window or tab) -- This allows you to see the effect of any configuration changes you have made on a user. The new window (typically a new tab) also lets you click the Sign Out link in the upper right corner where you can return to your original identity impersonation concealed.

Manage Pages -- Configure the Public or Private pages for a user, depending on the selected tab. Possible actions here include changing the look and feel of pages (for computers and mobile browsers), adding pages and child pages, and importing or exporting page configurations. Notice that you can configure meta tags, and javascript on these pages too.

Exports are in .lar format, and go to the download location configured in the browser you are using. The export screen lets you select specific features, and the date range of pages to export.

If you want to set up several pages already configured elsewhere for another user, or even for an entire community of users, export those pages from their origin, then Manage > Pages menu for the user or community.

Deactivate -- Retires a user configured on your system. You can also check users and click the Deactivate button above the listed users. Such users are not deleted, but are in a disabled state. You can do an Advanced search for inactive users and Activate them or permanently delete them.

Your organization has a number of geographic locations and you plan to manage the network infrastructure for all these locations using RC7 Synergy. You can define the geographic locations to which devices can be associated. This will help you manage and view your network, grouped by location or branches. See Locations for the specifics about the portlet where you can set up locations.

To edit your own information as a signed-in user, simply click your login name in the upper right corner of the portal screen.

Organizations

Create Organizations just as you would create Users. You can create a Regular or Location type of organization. You can do this only if your package includes the MSP option, so this capability is not available to all users.

You must first create a Regular organization to be the parent for a Location.