Portal > Roles

Roles determine the applications permissions available to users assigned them; manage them in this screen. To configure functional permissions for the application, see Redcell > Permission Manager.

Click Add to create a Regular Role, Site Role, or Organizational Role. A Regular Role assigns its permissions to its members. A Site or Organizational Role assigns its permissions to a site or organization to which you can assign users.

Click the Action button to the right of a role to Edit, view or alter Permissions, Assign Members (this last works to see and assign users). You can also assign role members in the Portal > Users and Organizations user editor.

Owner Roles do not have an Action button. Owner implies something you have added or created and so actions do not apply.

Notice also that when you Assign Members, a screen appears with tabs where you can assign Users, Sites, Organizations and User Roles. Typical best practice is to assign users to one of these collective designations, then assign the collection to a role.

Notice also that you can view both Current and Available members with those sub-tabs. You can even Search for members.

Click Back (in the upper right corner) or the View All tab to return to the screen listing roles and their Action buttons.

Add and Configure User Roles / Permissions

Add and configure User Roles with the following steps:

1. Click Go to > Control Panel and navigate to Portal > Roles.

2. Click the Add tab under the heading at the top of the page, and select Regular Roles. Notice that you can also add roles that configure permissions for sites and organizations.

3. Enter the details of the new role (Name, Title, Description), then Save it.

4. Click Portal > RolesView All button to see a list of available roles, including the one you added.

5. By clicking the Action icon to the right of any listed Role. Here, you can select the role’s permissions to alter web portal access in the Define Permissions screen.

6. To configure Open Manage Network Manager permissions, click Define Permissions. Alternatively, select or delete Open Manage Network Manager permissions by editing the role in Redcell > Permission Manager.

If you are restricting permissions for new users, you must also remove the permissions from the User and Power User roles, automatically assigned to new users. The permissions available are the combination of those configured here and the User / Power User roles’ permissions. You can remove users from the Power User role altogether, but not from the User role. You must remove permissions from that User role if you want users not to have them.

If you have eliminated all permissions from a role by removing the Default User Roles, an intervening screens lets you copy another Role’s permissions so you do not have to enter all permissions from scratch.

Defining a base role’s permissions can provide the start for non-base role’s permissions if you use this screen to copy them, then edit them later for the difference between the base role and non-base role.

7. When the permission editor appears, select the type of permission from the pick list under Add Permissions, then select the appropriate checkboxes to enable the desired permission.

8. To alter or enable more of Open Manage Network Manager’s functional permissions, click the Redcell > Permission Manager.

9. The Role to Permission mapping screen appears. Click the Edit button to the right of listed Roles to see and configure available permissions.

The Editing Role dialog appears where you can click Add to select more permissions, and edit any existing permissions (with the Edit this entry icon to the right of the permission).

Notice that you can filter what appears in this screen with the Show Assigned / Show All radio buttons at its bottom.

10. Click Advanced to see available permissions organized by Read, Write, Execute, Add or Delete actions.

11. After you have selected permissions, click Apply to accept them and add them to the role. Click Save to preserve the permission configuration for the role, too.

Notice that you can revisit this role, manage it and its membership with the Action button to the right of the role. You can also add users to the group by selecting and editing that user with that same button.