User Manager

The application’s User Manager, shown below, lets you create and manage users, and associate information with them like passwords, group membership, and contact information. Select Settings > Permissions > User Manager to display the User Manager.

Figure 16-2  User Manager

The User Manager displays the User ID, First and Last Name, Status (enabled or disabled) and whether the user is Locked Out. The detail panels at the bottom of the screen display those for the selected user. They also display which groups the user belongs to of those available on the system.

Use the Max Rows field to limit the number of records that appear at once on screen. You can also filter the display to show a select subset of users, and can sort so users appear in the order you like.

Select a filter parameter (UserID, Last Name, Groups) from the top of this screen, enter the corresponding search text in the text field, and click Go.

Click on any column header to sort the display based on that column’s contents. The initial click sorts the column in ascending order; the next click sorts in descending order. Subsequent clicks toggle the sort between ascending and descending.

[spacer]

Users on Solaris machines must in the same workgroup (in Solaris) as the user who installed the application.

The User Manager has these controls:

New -- Opens a dialog where you can add new users to the system. See Adding or Modifying a User for more information.

[spacer]

Best practice is to add new users rather than making changes to administrative privileges.

Open -- Opens an edit dialog populated with the information for the selected user. See Adding or Modifying a User for more information.

Delete -- Removes the selected user from the list (and the application).

Disable -- Prevents the selected user from logging on to the application by setting the user’s Expiration Date to the current date.

Unlock -- Releases the lock on the selected user. (Locks are indicated by an entry in the Locked Out field.) Users are locked out if they try to log in with an incorrect password too many times (default = 4). When this happens the date and time of lock out appears in the Locked out column. Administrators can configure the number of attempts allowed users before they are locked out (see Login Policy).

Unless otherwise configured, locked-out users cannot gain entry into the system until an administrator releases their locks. Unlocking a locked-out user lets the user’s previous password work. Lock out lasts for a configurable amount of time (see Lockout Period), and by default, the lockout eventually expires regardless of whether an admin unlocks the account.

Reset Password -- Checks the Force Password Change checkbox in the user editor. This requires the selected user to change the password on the next login.

[spacer]

OWAdmin without any password exists by default as an alternative user with administrative privileges. If you want your installation to be extremely secure, delete this user, but understand that you will have to re-install if other, authorized administrators cannot log in for some reason.

Print -- Create an Acrobat file of the users that appear in the (filtered) list. You must have the free Acrobat reader installed for this work correctly.

Help -- Opens the online help for this screen.