Updating an Existing Installation

Always consult the manuals and CD contents for upgrade instructions. Database changes may require a migration step to preserve your data when moving to a new version. A screen appears during this migration that lets you select the path for exported data to be processed. See Upgrading from Previous Versions for the full story.

Best practice is to perform a complete backup of your system and database before attempting an upgrade. Provided you are dealing with the embedded MySQL database, some packages installs may prompt you to automatically back up the database. The wizard can also prompt you for a location. The filename is backup.sql.

Figure 2-5  Backup and Path Selection

If you do an update installation, even if you elect not to rebuild the database, installation always re-seeds the system settings. If you have changed the default settings, you may want to export these before proceeding.

If you have a previously-installed version of the application on your computer and attempt to run the installation program an update installation dialog appears. It reminds you that setup can update previously installed features and, encourages you to make a database backup as part of the installation.

[spacer]

If you are upgrading File Management, you may have to update configuration file backups. Consult the File Management release notes for instructions about how to do this.

After files install, select whether you want the installation program to rebuild the database content, otherwise, the application keeps the existing one. The installation wizard begins copying the needed files.

If your installation fails, see setup.log, db_setup.log or app_setup.log in the destination directory for the installation for messages that may help fix the failure. (See Troubleshooting for more advice about logs).

[spacer]

Servers should not be running during updates and uninstallation. Just before file transfers a screen appears, saying “Checking for active servers.” This only checks with the server manager and would not detect a server started manually. If one is running, then you are warned to stop it with an option to test further.