Uninstalling

You can uninstall the software by using Windows’ control panel’s Add/Remove programs feature (or with Uninstall Redcell\Uninstall Redcell.exe), or by running the following on Linux / Solaris:

$OWARE_USER_ROOT/_uninst/linux_uninstall

or

$OWARE_USER_ROOT/_uninst/sol_uninstall.sh

or for console mode, run...

OWARE_USER_ROOT/_uninst/linux_uninstall -i console

or

OWARE_USER_ROOT/_uninst/sol_uninstall.sh -i console

If you uninstall in a shell rather than using the graphic uninstaller, uninstaller cannot uninstall its own directory. This produces some errors you can safely ignore in a console uninstallation. Use cd /opt and then rm -rf [installation target directory] to do final cleanup.

In graphic uninstallation, as in installation, click Next to continue through the screens as they appear. One such screen appears listing what you want to uninstall. Confirm that you want to remove all the listed installed components. You can optionally delete all the applications’ files and directories (complete removal).

Uninstallation on MySql servers may delete the database and any application directories. The applications’ directories also contains any installed application components and device drivers.

The option to delete directories is primarily to support application developers having to uninstall and re-install the basic application platform without losing component files (like device drivers) on disk that were not part of the installa­tion.

Deletion is recommended, but not required. It removes files created after installation; temp files, database files, cache files, and files extracted from OCP/DDP files. Overall, it is the best way to get a clean uninstallation.

You can back up your oware/lib/*.properties files or overrides before uninstalling if you want to preserve them. An alternative is overriding properties See Overriding Properties for more information.

When the software has been completely uninstalled on Windows, if prompted, you must reboot your computer to complete deletion of any locked files. Best practice is to reboot right away.

Uninstalling removes all installed files and files created by using the installed system (that it has permission to delete). It does not remove directories that were not created by this application’s installation or runtime. User-created directories in the product’s directory path remain after product removal.

Uninstaller may freeze on hosts with inadequate resources. Also: The uninstaller deletes uninstall.exe, if you press the cancel button. After the canceling uninstallation, several directories and files remaining on disk that require manually deletion to completely uninstall.